Day 45: big itemized update

Hi guys! I’m back! ….Kind of!

I have soo many things to update on, so I will try to be brief! For your reading ease, I’m going to itemize (oh yes):

Illness Sucks
First off, sorry for the super long delay in posting and my lack of comments on all of your blogs. As I mentioned in my last post (where I reviewed The Great Fitness Experiment), I’ve been sick. I figured it was just a little cold and would take only a few days to heal, but boy, was I wrong. It really, really wiped me out for over a week. I was completely exhausted, sniffling, sore mess. I missed classes and skipped out on some social events, and obviously, did not do my regular workouts. Honestly, this illness kind of came at a bad time – I had only ONE regular workout left in Stage 1! Ridiculous! Needless to say, I’ve really missed the gym 😦

Work Trip
My absence can also be partly explained by a little work trip I had to take. I went away for a couple of days for a meeting related to my research assistantship job to this place:

golf.gif

The boy has family in the town where I had my meeting, so we stayed with them in their gorgeous, ocean-view home, which was decked out as it used to be a B&B. Needless to say, it was a welcome mini-break and outside of the research work I was doing, I took a vacation from my homework as well.

Workouts
So….On the exercise front, I must admit I’m feeling a bit deflated. A few days ago I was starting to feel a bit better so the boy and I spent a night at the pool, which was nice. I was feeling a lot better yesterday, and so was quite hopeful about getting in that last regular stage 1 workout…..

IT DID NOT GO WELL. I felt OK to begin with – just a little weak – but OK. I reduced my weight a little bit on the squats because they did not feel strong, and only did 30˚ pushups, which was OK. I was starting to feel weak and shaky during the step ups and jackknife – and then I got hit with nausea and basically cut the last two exercises short. Brutal, but I honestly thought I was going to toss if I did one more move. 😦

Here’s what I did:

Straight Sets

Squats – 2 sets of 8 @ 110 lbs, 1 set of 8 @ 105 lbs

Push ups – 3 sets of 10 @ 30˚
Seated Row – 3 sets of 8 @ 70 lbs

Step Ups – 2 sets of 6 @ 25 lbs
Prone Jackknife – Β 2 sets of 12

Progress
So, the final regular workout of stage 1 was a bit of a flop. Unfortunate, but I’m glad to have at least finished the majority of it.Β For those who are not familiar with the program, there are also 2 “special” workouts at the end of Stage 1, which basically ask you to do all of the exercises with your ORIGINAL weight, for as many reps as possible. This is to show you how much you’ve progressed since the beginning. Then, you’re supposed to take a week off before starting Stage 2.

Because I took a week off during my sickness, I have decided NOT to do the special workouts, mainly because my progress has stalled and possibly declined as a result of my illness, and so my “progress” won’t truly be captured by the As-Many-Reps-As-Possible (AMRAP) format. Plus, I’m just tired of Stage 1 and am ready to move on. So I’ll be moving right along to Stage 2. I’m still not sure if I’m 100% ready to be fully back into my heavy lifting routine, so I am going to go to the gym and see how it feels.

Other (*ahem*) Issues
As I mentioned a few weeks ago, I’m taking some time to assess my goals. I think I’ve figured a few things out and will be posting on them shortly. A lot of thinking along with my sickness has caused me to re-assess a few things, namely around my physical and mental well-being.

Aside from my cold, there’s something else going on physiologically: I missed my period this month (and/or) am almost 10 days late. Before you get super excited (or scared), NO I’m not pregnant. Or at least as far as I (and the pregnancy test I took) can tell. So something else has thrown me off.

My period was due BEFORE I got sick so it wasn’t the illness. I haven’t gone through any new or significant stress over the past month, so that can’t explain it. The only things I have narrowed it down to are (a) exercise (although I feel this is unlikely, since I did lift weights and exercised very regularly before) and (b) diet (this is what my gut is telling me, as it is what has changed most significantly this month). Or I am pregnant and the test was wrong πŸ˜‰Β Also, I should mention that my body fat is no where near the lower limit, so it’s not a case of low body fat. Any thoughts you might have on WHY this might be happening would be GREATLY appreciated!

Fun Link
Did you guys hear about the sweet little ten-year-old Canadian girl who caught Lady Gaga’s attention performing Born This Way? She’s performing with Lady Gaga at her concert tonight. Can’t say I’m a huuuuge fan of Gaga, but this girl is pretty darn cute (this last link may have caused me to shed a tear).

Alrighty…that’s all for now. Sorry for information overload….:/

MISS YOU ALL!

Β 

Β 

15 thoughts on “Day 45: big itemized update

  1. Well I’m glad to hear you’re healthy again and it’s nice to see an update from you! That trip looks like it was gorgeous… can’t lie… I’m entirely jealous of that part.

    And maybe your getting sick came at a good time, gave you some time off to reassess things! Let me know how it goes and if you need any encouragement!

    • Thanks girl! I totally think you’re right, it was a really good opportunity to think through my goals, etc. Funny how life often gives you exaaactly what you need. πŸ™‚

  2. I may be posting something about this soon, but as far as the missing period goes, I had a unique experience in that I lost mine pretty much the moment I picked up a barbell. It could have been diet-related, too, but regardless, it was gone. I went through several trips to the doc, several rounds of various meds to induce it, then finally got it back by going on hormonal BC… which I later realized was aggravating my stomach probs. So I am off the BC and waiting… and waiting. It’s only been 3.5 months since I dropped the BC though, and my doc told me not to worry until 6 months. In the meantime, my skin is acting like its 16 again, and I can tell something’s up. So I’m hopeful!

    • Wow, Kristen, thanks for sharing. That is very interesting. I actually posted something about this on the Bodybuilding.com forums to get some feedback on the experience, and a lot of women actually wrote back having experienced the same thing. Here’s the link to the forum if you want to check it out: http://forum.bodybuilding.com/showthread.php?t=132364923

      I totally hear you though with hormonal BC giving you stomach problems (I think i mentioned that on your blog a while ago). I never had any issues until I went on Seasonale (the one that gives you your period every 3 months) which basically made me feel like a crazy person with a body that hated me. I was depressed (quite literally), emotional, and was having terrible GI issues. The naturopath suggested I try going off it, and within 3 days my stomach was already getting better. I’ve vowed not to take hormonal BC since then. It took about 3 months for my period to come back, but since it has it has generally been quite regular (though I have longer cycles, usually 32-34 days). I’m hopeful for you! Keep me posted on what happens/how you’re feeling.

      Also, my skin has been f*cked since I went off the pill. That’s my only discontent with this whole thing. It’s been a nightmare for about a year now. Sigh.

  3. I have been sick too! I had a sinus infection for a week and a half before I went to the doctor. I got antibiotics…started feeling better, and then when I was done with my antibiotics I started feeling bad again. I went to the doctor yesterday and now I am taking Flonaze (a nasal spray steroid) to see if it will cause some of my inflammation to go down. If this doesn’t work it’s back to antibiotics. Ugh. It’s putting a small delay on my workouts too. I have 4 more workouts in Stage 1. I, like you, am contemplating whether to do the extra workouts. I don’t think I will. I am sick of Stage 1 as well. =P

    THat’s odd about your period. Mine has been late from time to time, but that was when I wasn’t taking birth control. The BC really regulated it, but I don’t know if you want to be on birth control. I know it’s not the most natural or safest thing in the long-run, but it could help. Hopefully you start to feel better soon! Don’t give up on yourself. πŸ™‚

    • Aww, I hope you are feeling better! That sounds like such a nightmare! It is definitely cold/flu season right now, I know so many people who are sick.

      haha, yeah. I was optimistic about being excited about ALL of Stage 1, but the truth is i was ready to get on with it.:)

      I’ve been on and off hormonal BC for a few years, and after a really bad experience (see my comment to Kristen above) I decided not to go on it again. I would consider it if it really came down to it, but for now I’m gonna wait it out and see what happens…

      • Yeah, I would wait it out. Maybe your body just needs some time to adjust.

        Good thing is I am feeling better…finally! πŸ˜€

  4. Could go on forever about this, so I won’t, but I also do not get my periods and I think it’s a combo of earlier in my life starving myself, exercise, body fat, diet, etc. So, pretty much, everything. I’ve tried it all, adjusted things, taken hormones, had tests run, gotten ultrasounds, etc. Nothing. So, could just be this month you are off, could be from now on. Just keep a record of things and keep an eye out for changes. Could also be new/extra stress on your body and system…

    Anyway, sometimes we don’t hit our goals… just means more to work towards, right? But either way you are working towards something for you. And your body needs time to recover- especially if you’re sick- so that might be way you didn’t hit higher numbers…???

    At least you’re working out, right?!
    That was a total rambling comment… sorry. lol

  5. Ohhh you know the same thing happened to me!!! well, all of it! first of all, i got sick at the end of stage 1, some kind of flu, so i actually lengthened stage 1 for two weeks because i wanted to make SURE i went on to stage 2 with a good solid base. Also, diet! My period was super out of whack when I upped my calories to 2100+, it took a good month or so for me to get back to experiencing again the cyclical I’M-HERE-*-sigh-* that accompanies each TOM hehe so yeah, maybe it could be the same thing that’s happening to you. The body is VERY alert to calories and the period is fickle around that so I’d chill about it, it’ll come, and as your body normalizes to being fed what it needs, it’ll come back in time month and month again πŸ™‚ hugs! feel better soon and dont worry about NRL stages, its YOUR program and you can make it sing!

    • Wow, Anna! I can’t believe how similar our experiences have been! It’s almost funny…thanks so much for sharing! It’s encouraging to hear that so many other women have gone through similar things. I posted to a few girls in the comments here a forum post I made at bodybuilding.com (like you, am not a huge fan, but it does have its purposes!). Here it is if you want to check it out: http://forum.bodybuilding.com/showthread.php?t=132364923

      Well so far I am 46 days into this cycle (which is exactly 2 weeks late for my usual length), and still NOTHING! The weirdest thing is that I am experiencing all these pregnancy symptoms now (think: really sore/swollen breasts, nausea, bloating, tiredness), which makes me think that either A. my period IS coming SOON or B. I am pregnant. I guess we’ll find out! ha! πŸ˜‰

  6. Awww that video of the girl singing is SOOO CUTE!! I love that Gaga song.

    I hope you’re feeling better missy…i know how awful it is to be stuck at home and sick! But I’m glad you got some boy time πŸ™‚

    As far as the womanly issues, it won’t hurt to visit the gyno. My sister, a doctor, says its very normal for women to lose their periods with a major change in exercise, even if they’re not at low BF. I would give it a month or two, and if it doesn’t return or you have any other symptoms, definitely get things checked out πŸ™‚ Glad you’re back!! missed you!

    • Thanks Christina!! Ahh, yes, she is just the cutest!

      Yes, definitely a good point on seeing a Doc. So far I’m 46 days into the cycle, 2+ weeks late, and still nothing, so I’m definitely considering it. Thanks for the note via your doctor sister! hehe πŸ™‚

  7. I just stumbled across your blog and I am also in Stage 1 of NROWLW. I am just a couple of workouts behind you and I am looking forward to following your progress. I hope you feel back to full strength soon!

    • Hey Allison, thanks for stopping by! That’s awesome that you’re doing the program – it’s wicked. Keep me posted on how you are enjoying the workouts!

Leave a Reply

