Day 32: goals?

Stage 1/A7

I can’t believe I’m already 32 days into the program…

Okay, so I can. This has been hard work. But at the same time, it has gone by relatively quickly. I’ve got just two workouts left in this stage, plus the two “special” workouts, and then it’s on to Stage 2. I’m curious to assess my progress and reassess where I’m at with my goals…

Speaking of which, I’m not sure that I have any, aside from getting into rockin’ shape and having abs I can be proud of, haha. Chatting with the boy this morning, and thinking about what Joob wrote on goals last week has got me thinking that it might be good to work on some more ‘concrete’ and SMART objectives…so stay tuned for a post on that. If any of you have suggestions on goal-setting, and what some achievable and workable goals might be, please share! šŸ™‚

That being said, I think my first goal was just to stick with a program, since I’ve been a ‘scatterbrained’ lifter in the past, just doing what I felt like. I committed to sticking to NROLFW for at least the first stage, and then to re-assess. I guess I’m doing OK in that department.

Anyway…The boy came with me to the gym again today and I had him check my form on the squats again (as it was might highest weight to date). Apparently I’m good – moving strong, and going deep.

The workout:

Straight Sets
Squats – 3 sets of 8 @ 110 lbs

Alternating Sets
Push Ups – 3 sets of 10 (instead of 8)
Seated Row – 3 sets of 8 @ 70 lbs

Step-Ups – 3 sets of 8 @ 27.5 lbs (each hand)
Prone Jackknife – 3 sets of 15 (this was the first time I felt like this was HARD!)

 

TGIF. Hope you guys have something fun planned for the weekend! We’re thinking about going snowshoeing…

10 thoughts on “Day 32: goals?

    • Thanks for stopping by Lisa! I’m actually not quite on stage 2, just 3 more workouts to go! It definitely is hard. I’m looking forward to my mid-stage break so I can get excited about going on with it….haha.

    • Aw, thank you! That’s really sweet. I’m not really a very accomplished lifter…while I have ‘lifted’ for a couple years, I only recently started following a program this January and have had really great results. I’m sure that with a little more time, you will make amazing progress!!

  1. How are the step ups going? I agree with you…the program goes by quickly! I am trying to figure out my macros still, to get those abs showing. I know I have them! Haha. I am trying to eat simpler and I am leaning toward a moderate protein, lowish carb, higher fat diet. About 30% carbs, 35% protein and fat.

    I can’t wait until I get squatting 100lbs! I am at 90 right now, I think tomorrow (if I feel good) I am going to try to squat 95 šŸ™‚

    • The step-ups are actually fine for me! After reading your post, and realizing that I was not doing them correctly (a bonus of having a blog friend doing the same program, haha!) I was sure I was going to have to lower the weight. But, turns out I’m able to do them fine – correctly – with the same weight. I can see how it would be a struggle, though. I think I have a fairly strong core, and a good sense of balance that comes from my yoga practice, which probably makes a big difference. I’m sure yours will build up in no time!

  2. TGIF is so freaking right. BUSSYYY week in the poop lab for me – busier one next week! But that isn’t for two more days…

    I’m stoked you linked my blog. Know that you are the FIRST PERSON EVER to reference one of my blog entries (that I know of). Well… ok I’ve had my blog referenced like twice. But you’re the first to refer to a specific post? I’m ranting and braindead.

    What kind of goals did you have in mind? Are you thinking long term goals or short term ones? Are you thinking about strength gains or physique gains?

    This may sound dumb, but I don’t pay much attention to the numbers I lift. I stopped recording them more or less because as long as I feel I am legitimately going to failure, my physique will respond accordingly.

    Example goals (Both fitness and nonfitness):
    1. Reach certain weights on certain exercises
    2. Increase general muscle mass
    3. Build a particular muscle you feel is inferior
    4. Be able to run/bike/swim a certain distance
    5. Pick a new workout program with an end goal in mind
    6. Train for Nathan’s Hotdog Eating contest in NYC
    7. Burp the alphabet
    8. Read x # of books
    9. Be nice to an old person
    10. Start some kind of artistic/crafty project and/or finish an old one

    • Bah! Best comment ever. Please don’t ever stop posting/commenting because you light up my life, no joke.

      I LOVE your goal suggestions. In particular, burping the alphabet and training for the hot dog eating contest. That would be INCREDIBLE. Both of these I have NEVER considered before šŸ˜‰

      But seriously, this has given me major food for thought. I had a big conversation with the boy the other day about workout goals and what, at the end of the day, I am looking for from all of this. To be honest I think I need to do a little more soul-searching…so I’ll be posting on it next week during my “break” (NROL makes you take a week off between every stage). I’m definitely going to be looking at your questions/suggestions when mapping them out…so thank you!

Leave a Reply

