side bar: girl muscles

I was browsing through some fitness magazines today in the gym (think: Self, Shape, etc.) and noticed how ridiculously thin and meagre so many of the fitness models are. Take this image from Self magazine’s “Get slim without the gym” fitness feature:

[image source]

I can’t remember where I saw it, but I read somewhere (actually I think it was in another magazine) something to the effect of: “The models that appear in these magazines are not slim because they’ve done the workouts; they’re actors who are slim because they were born that way.” Basically saying that many of the models that appear in healthy living/women’s magazines are not the products of the workouts that they represent. This is pretty standard knowledge among our media-savvy population, but easy to forget when you’re bombarded with images like this all the time.

I used to look at models like these and wish I could somehow attain that physique. Lifting has shown me that not only is it probably impossible, it’s not even really desirable. I’d rather have legs that can support me when I move [fast or slow, up or down], a lower body and core that allows me to lift things [like my zillion library books], and an upper body that will [eventually] allow me to carry a baby with ease.

Besides, how many push ups do you think this chick can even do? I’d give her 8 – at best. 😉

12 thoughts on “side bar: girl muscles

  1. Hehe, I love this! And it’s so weird how our views change. I remember certain girls whose physiques I used to want..now I see them and I don’t want to look like that! I do believe everyone is beautiful but my viewpoint has definitely changed. I used to think that thin but skinny-fat was attractive, but now I aspire something totally different. Anyway, I’m probably not making sense (it’s my bedtime- ha!) but I can definitely relate 🙂

    • You totally make sense, and I completely agree. I said to Joob in a comment below that now my eyes automatically go towards the girl in the room who looks like she WORKED for her body rather than the one who was born that way and/or starves herself to get there. I think it’s so true that “strong” is the new “skinny”! And thank goodness for it 😉

  2. You know that black dress I posted this past weekend? It HANGS off the Victoria’s Secret model and I was a little worried how it would look on my physique – which you can imagine is wildly different from that of a VS model!

    Despite risking sounding self-absorbed: I thought the dress looked 100,000x better on me. Rewind 8-12 mo… I don’t think I would have ever thought I could have looked better than a VS model in a dress.

    Her chest put mine to shame though. Such is life.

    • Also as a side note: Some people are opposed to using lifting straps. I’m not. I only use them when I absolutely can NOT hold the weight. I would rather sacrifice some grip strength but build up my lower back/legs. It’s a matter of personal preference I suppose

      • I hear ya. I had the BF check out my squats today and he said my form was perfect. For the moment, the difference between my DLs and squats is 15 lbs. I think I’ll try and work without straps for a bit longer, but if the difference gets greater, I might try them (just so that I’m building in a balanced way). Thanks for your thoughts!

    • You don’t sound self-absorbed; you sound ACCURATE. You looked HOT! Anyway, my eyes are always drawn to the girl in the room who looks like she WORKED for her figure, not the one who does nothing for it and/or starves herself to attain it.

      and….boobs are overrated. 😉

  3. One of my biggest pet peeves are the rail thin models in fitness magazines! Since beginning personal training, I’ve developed a keen eye on body composition and physique. I can tell by looking at a person where their weaknesses are, etc. Anyways, you’re right. Those models don’t do the workouts. They’re lean muscle mass is low, and you can sometimes even see when low body fat is natural/healthy or when forced/unhealthy.

    I do have to say though, on the flipside, the models in Oxygen magazine, while strong and muscular, represent an extreme lifestyle too that I can’t really get down with.

    Great post!

    • That’s true, actually, and something that’s not really discussed in the same light. Both are perpetuating ideals that are difficult, if impossible, to ‘obtain’ without extreme behaviour.

      Oh, the woes of finding balance! (story of your/my life!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

