Day 29: into the final stretch

Stage 1/B7

Hope you all had a valentine’s day full of chocolate and treats! I made full-calorie, full fat chocolate molten lava cakes …sadly there was a chocolate molten lava eruption. They were still eaten 🙂

As far as lifting goes, I’m into the final stretch of Stage 1! In this stage most of my sets go down to 8 reps (gradual decline from 15->12->10) which means I get to try my hand at more weight!

Today was a mix of triumphs and challenges:

Straight Sets
Deadlift – 3 sets of 8 @ 95 lbs

Alternating Sets
Dumbbell shoulder press – 1 set of 8 @ 22.5 lbs, 7 @ 22.5 lbs, 6 @ 22.5 lbs
Wide Grip Lat Pulldown – 1 set of 8 @ 70 lbs, 7 @ 70 lbs, 6 @ 70 lbs

Lunge – 3 sets of 8 @ 27.5 lbs
Swiss Ball Crunch – 3 sets of 15 @ 15 lbs

Added in:
Hip Thrusts – 3 sets of 12 @ 30lbs

That’s all for now. This is mostly just a journaling post, so feel free not to comment 🙂

 

10 thoughts on “Day 29: into the final stretch

    • I lucked out at this gym, but I can sympathize – every other gym I’ve been to has only ever had the 5 lb increases. It’s so nice to have the mid-range. We have ’em for 17.5, 22.5, and 27.5. Then it’s all up by 5s.

    • Oh so very yum. The best part is that if your lava cakes explode (like ours did due to being undercooked – although i followed the directions EXACTLY!) you can still dip your strawberries in it like fondue! 😉

  1. Awesome! I can’t wait until I get to where you are. 🙂 I may have to steal the next workouts from you. I loaned the book to a friend at work and she hasn’t started reading it yet. Hopefully I get it back soon before I start the special workouts!

    • Haha, well it’s pretty straight forward, same ol’ thing, just reduced reps for the main exercises and increased reps for the ab exercises.

Leave a Reply

