Day 23: sleep troubles

Stage 1/A5

Hey all!

Just want to say that there have been some super quality posts from you all in the past little while. I’m so thankful to be in the company of such intelligent, knowledgeable and STRONG ladies!

I had to bump my scheduled workout for yesterday to this morning so I could finish working on an extremely challenging assignment that was due yesterday afternoon. Though my doctorate is in sociology, I’m taking 2 courses in population and public health this term, and they are kicking my ass, mainly because I’m learning everything from square one. Reading a toxicological assessment is NOT the same as reading a qualitative research report. But I’m learning, which is the important thing.

Anywho, workout for today:

Straight Sets
Squats – 3 sets of 10 @ 105 lbs

Alternating Sets
Push-ups – 3 sets of 10
Seated Row – 2 sets of 10 @ 65 lbs, 1 set of 8 @ 65 lbs

Step-ups – 3 sets of 10 @ 25 lbs – 5 up
Prone Jack knife – 3 sets of 12 (medium ball)

2 quick side notes:

1. My amazon order came in the other day and I was SO excited! I got two books, this one, which is probably useless and irrelevant to most of you, and The Great Fitness Experiment, which I’ve heard great things about. I figure it will be a fun, breezy, bedtime read. I can relate to her experience of trying out just about everything kind of workout under the sun – but she stuck them all out for a month each! I’ll write a review once I’m finished reading.

2. I have been having major troubles sleeping lately. I feel like it’s hard to fall asleep, and then when I do, my sleep is extremely disrupted. I’ll wake up several times throughout the night, hot or uncomfortable, unable to get back to sleep. The worst part is I’ve been having extremely scary and graphic dreams ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I don’t know what’s going on. It feels like I’m going to bed caffeinated, but I only have one cup of coffee or tea (at best) early in the morning, so I know it’s not that. I’m wondering if it has anything to do with the lifting program and/or diet. Do any of you have thoughts on this?

Have a great day!

17 thoughts on “Day 23: sleep troubles

  1. 1. could it be that you’re not eating enough!?! i know it sounds weird but being at a big deficit can have a MASSIVE effect on your sleep

    2. have you tried valerian tea (e.g. ‘sleepy time extra’) or linden tea? i always have a cup of linden before bed, well, most of the time, and the stuff is amazing

    3. the obvious stuff is of course caffeine, sometimes even dark chocolate can do it…

    4. stress.

    • Thanks, Anna!

      It really could be any of the things you’ve noted! re: a – I’m quite sure I’m eating enough. I’ve woken up with hunger pangs in the past, but not really since starting this program. Something to keep in mind, though. b – I actually have sleepy time tea at home – don’t know why I didn’t think of that before! c – I might try cutting out caffeine over the next few days if it doesn’t improve. d – honestly? there’s a big likelihood it could be stress. gosh-darned graduate degrees….sigh.

      Will definitely try some of these suggestions and will keep you posted. Thanks again ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. For some reason the more I eat the better I sleep! LOL. Are you using your laptop or TV before bed? If you are that triggers your brain to stay awake- just a thought!

  3. Hey DD!

    I have been having the same problem with sleep! Part of it was stress-related, I am sure. I was having problems with my boyfriend, and so my sleep was horrible. Bad dreams about the breakup and our relationship. Plus, watching Dexter, a show about a serial killer, doesn’t help. =P I’ve had some crazy dreams lately. But, my sleep has gotten better the past 2 nights. My boyfriend and I have been working things out and we’re doing better. So, my sleep it better. ๐Ÿ™‚ Last night I slept like a baby. I got 7.5 hours and it felt lovely. I am goign to try to read before bed to help me fall asleep quicker.

    Nice weights on your lifting! I can’t wait to get to the 10 reps in stage 1! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I love Dexter, but I hear you on the relationship-related stress – that has definitely happened to me before, too. Glad to hear that you guys are working things out though, that’s great!

      Are you still planning on posting your workouts? I am excited to read about your experiences!

  4. The Great Fitness Experiment is an awesome book! I love charlotte’s blog. I wrote a review on it a few weeks ago… not sure if you were following me back then but the post is somewhere in blogland if you’re interested!

    I have a lot of trouble sleeping too. Food was mentioned in one comment… I eat a fat + protein meal before bed each night. (99% of the time its a tbsp of pb and 3/4 c eggwhites. 1% of the time I’m out of eggwhites and use something else haha)

    Otherwise you could try things like reading before bed or using a white noise maker. I use a white noise maker and i LOVE it. It’s so soothing and helps me tune out my nonstop thinking.

    • Thanks April!!!! Sometimes I look and I see progress, other days I can’t even tell the difference. So it’s encouraging to hear from you on it ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

