Day 20: i’m boring

Stage 1/B4

I have no pictures today. I’m sorry. I’m a bore. The truth is that I didn’t start this blog to be a blogger, rather I started it because I wanted to keep track of my workouts, keep myself accountable, and perhaps engage with a bodybuilding community (which I have so far – you guys are awesome!!!). In a former life I had a different blog (which will remain unnamed) and spent TONS of time taking fancy photos with my DSLR and writing lengthy posts…..and now i couldn’t be bothered. Ironically this site has generated a lot more traffic at the getgo than that one did.

That being said, I am going to do something very blogger-esque and tell you about this super cute movie that we watched last night – The Switch. Go rent/order/watch it now. It may melt your heart (especially if you were a die hard Arrested Development fan and have a soft spot for Jason Bateman). Pleeease watch the clip:

I do have something fun today, which I am picking up from Christina:

You know you’re a bodybuilder when…

1. You practice squats at home and lunge around the house. Does anyone else do this? ha, ha.
2. You look forward to early mornings at the gym
when it is empty and the weight rack is full!
3. You batch-cook chicken breasts (and other protein sources). Saves me tons of time in the week.
4. You have a routine, and you like it that way, and don’t nobody mess with your routine or shit’s gonna hit the fan. No? Just me? 😉

Now to the workout! My first day of the second half of stage one – it gets a little different here because instead of doing 2 sets of high reps, you begin to do 3 sets of lower reps. It was tough. My grip strength is increasing, but damn, it was still hard. Here’s what I did:

Straight Sets
Deadlift – 1 set of 10 @ 90 lbs, 2 sets of 9 @ 90 lbs

Alternating Sets
Dumbbell Shoulder Press – 2 sets of 9 @ 20 lbs, 1 set of 6 @ 20lbs
Wide-Grip Lat Pulldown – 2 sets of 9 @ 65 lbs, 1 set of 7 @ 65 lbs

Lunges – 3 sets of 10 @ 25 lbs
Swiss Ball Crunch – 3 sets of 15 @ 10lbs

I also did 15 min of HIIT on the treadmill switching between easy intervals (4MPH) and hard intervals (7.5-8MPH). I don’t always feel like cardio, but today I had the energy for it (and I was waiting for the boy who was also at the gym), so I did.

Are you watching the superbowl? We’re not….we both have homework and are then going out for a swanky dinner date tonight. Happy Sunday!

13 thoughts on “Day 20: i’m boring

  1. Dang! 90lb deadlift! I only did 50#. 😦 My forearms were hurting so much! I am going to try to up it on Tuesday. Do you do romanian deadlifts or stiff-legged?

    I am wondering why you are doing 2 sets of 9 and then 2 sets of 6? this wasn’t in my book. :/

    and, i am craving some cardio too. so, tomorrow I might do some HIIT. 🙂

    I loved that movie! The little boy was so cute and nerdy. 😀

    • Oops! It wasn’t supposed to say 2 sets of 6 – that was a typo. The 2 sets of 9 were me trying to get to 10, and the third (single) set of 6 was my last feeble attempt to get to 10. haha.

      I do the regular deadlifts starting from squatting (that are in the book). I hear you on the forearms bit…i have definitely struggled with my grip, slowly and surely it seems to be improving. Doing the alternating grip helps me out during the second and third sets quite a bit.

      Re: 90lbs….it’s taken some time for me to get there! My first week I think I was doing 45 lbs – so don’t worry, you will be up in no time!

      • Wow! That’s an awesome weight increase, 45 to 90 in just a few weeks! Amazing job. 🙂 What is the alt. grip?

        No problem about the typo. We all have them. 🙂 I think it’s so awesome that these workouts kick butt, and they only take about 35-45 minutes to complete and are not too complex and easily misinterpreted. Before I started I thought that it wasn’t enough of a workout, but now I know otherwise! I can’t wait to go up in my weight on Tuesday. 🙂

  2. Don’t worry about the lack of bloggeriepictures chica… I think blogging is about the writing. The flair is nice on occasion but totally unnecessary (in my opinion) unless it somehow contributes to the topic of the post.

    And I am totally amused that I am now classified as “an intelligent person who knows her sh*t”. It’s kind of comforting to know that people read my blog and (dare I say it?!) care about what I think???? 🙂 Thanks for that!

    • Yep, you’ve passed into the category of intelligent people who know their shit. I figure you can pretty much tell how smart someone is within a few written sentences 😉 Plus, you’ve worked your ass off getting to where you want to be fitness-wise, and I figure that’s worth its weight in gold. (note: I’d take advice from a fit athlete over a fat physician any day!)

      • You’re way too nice!! Thank you though – it really means a lot to me that you think that highly of my opinion!

  3. to be honest, there are several blogs i read with tons of pictures that really don’t have great content. I’d take good quality content over pics any day 🙂 And I like that blog is to the point!

    PS I’m all about #2 – its my only motivation to wake up early – i hateee crowded weight rooms.

  4. #4 is totally me.

    “Yeah we can work out together! Wait, you want to do legs? No. No way. It’s upper body day. Legs are Wednesdays. I can’t do legs today. Not gonna happen. Maybe we can workout together next Wednesday.”

    …and speaking of football, my brother in law let Matt borrow some Football coaching books and I found some weightlifting workouts in them.
    My new routine is an off-season football training routine. I’d be lying to you if I told you that if didn’t make me feel so hardcore.

Leave a Reply

