Day 15: protein puff

Stage 1/B4

Am I seriously only 15 days into this program? When I put it that way, it feels like I’ve barely just begun. But already I feel like I’ve advanced a ton. My workout today was pretty meh so I’m not gonna talk much about it. Didn’t feel like I made a ton of gains, but made some minor improvements. Again, I paid extra attention to my form this week so I wasn’t very concerned with increasing my weight. To be honest, I felt like I was working at capacity anyway. And so it is – not every workout is going to be record-breaking, I suppose.

Here’s what I did:

SS
Deadlifts – 2 sets of 12 @ 85 lbs

Alternating Sets
Dumbbell shoulder press – 1 set of 10 @ 20 lbs, 1 set of 9 @ 20 lbs (each hand)
Wide Grip Lat Pulldown – 1 set of 11 @ 60 lbs, 1 set of 12 @ 60 lbs

Lunges – 2 sets of 12 @ 25 lbs (my HANDS wanted to fall OFF!)
Swiss-ball crunches – 2 sets of 15 using 10lb weight

I added in a bit of abs onto the end.

Tonight I had my weekly yoga class. I felt stiff. Hate that. But, I was wearing tights and noticed my legs looked extra muscular…it’s amazing how quickly some physical changes happen. Next time I’ll take a picture.

On to some more picturesque things…food!

Yesterday we went out for sushi (we live in sushi heaven) and we ordered a few dishes. I ordered the sashimi combo plate. When the server brought it to our table I laughed out loud. Here’s why:

Yes my friends, that is a martini cup containing ice, sashimi, fish eggs, and a neon blue (actually it flashed rainbow) light.

 

I didn’t eat the fish eggs. (It grosses me out how they get stuck in your teeth and then, like 6 hours later, you’ll feel a little pop and remember what you ate for dinner)

Tonight….oooh tonight. This is about the “protein puff”.

Let me back up by explaining: Before we went for sushi yesterday, we went shopping for a new protein powder. After chatting with the people at the nutrition store, we settled on one called Promasil in the Soft Serve Vanilla flavour. What attracted me to this one was (a) they don’t use any artificial sweeteners (they use Stevia), and (b) they have a mix of different protein sources (including whey, casein, goat milk, and egg albumen) which I thought would be good to supplement/mix up my regular whey protein shakes. ALSO I learned from April that casein and other types of protein are slower-release (ie. good for before bed!).

So tonight I made my first protein ice cream with this stuff.

Oh my. Oh dear. I put the blender on, got to work on the dirty dishes in the sink, and when I looked up again the contents of the blender had more than doubled, no, tripled in size.

Man.

This. stuff. puffs. up.

and. it. is. hella. creamy.

Observe:

 

Promasil protein ice cream topped with cacao bliss "sauce" (ie. 1 tsp cacao bliss + hot water).

Trust me, it was much more ice-creamy and fluffy than the picture lets on. And it produced about 1L ofย  “ice cream”. I’m not joking. Good lord. I finished my gargantuan bowl and hobbled into the bedroom moaning to J about my full stomach.

It’s probably mostly air in there. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Question: do you guys have any favourite protein powders? recommendations? warnings? Thanks!

7 thoughts on “Day 15: protein puff

  1. Haha that is so awesome it puffed that much!! I noticed protein blends make the best baked goods and pancakes too. Whey makes them kinda dry/rubbery sometimes.

    I’ll have to look for that protein too- stevia is always a plus!

    • Good to know! I’ll have to try some to make protein cakes – love that recipe!

      I’m not sure if Promasil is available in the US as I think it’s a Canadian company…but if you’re interested, I could always send you some to try out! ๐Ÿ™‚ We could do a protein exchange, haha.

  2. I LOOOOVE Gaspari’s vanilla whey, have you tried it??? It’s deliciiiious, creme de la creme! its great when icecream starts to melt and gets kinda gooey, that looks seriously good ๐Ÿ™‚

    (PS: your grip will increase in no time, you just wait, its one of those things that just kind of happens!)

    • Gaspari’s, no! Never heard of it! I’ll keep my eyes peeled though! Is it available outside of the UK? (that’s where you are, right?)

  3. I do non-dairy protein powders, namely hemp. I don’t like anything with sweetener, artificial or natural. But I think that is a personal preference.

    How closely are you following the diet program? Are you doing the warm-ups or any other cardio with the program? Just curious! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Good for you! I would love to rely less on whey…but for a few reasons I’ve decided to stick it out for a bit. One, because I’ve tried quite a few of the non-dairy protein powders and find a lot of them to be not quite as tasty (though I do enjoy my nutribiotic rice protein on occasion, and my vega shakes from time to time!), and two, because I’ve heard whey is one of the best/most complete proteins out there….and I guess I’m just trying my hand at seeing how well this whole thing actually works.

      I don’t follow the diet program per se – I really couldn’t be bothered to shop and cook according to 2 weeks worth of meal ideas in a book that sound, at best, mediocre to me – but I do follow the general principles that back the meals (and the book). So what that translates to is eating according to their calorie recommendation for me (which ranges from about 1950 on non-lifting days to 2150 on lifting days), and getting in a good amount of protein (I usually aim for 30-40% of my calories from protein a day, but typically I end at about 30-35%). The rest I don’t worry about too much, although I have found that a lower carb/higher fat arrangement works well for me. Lower carb for me is not “real” low carb (<70g/day) but rather about 150-175g/day. I don't get blood sugar spikes from this way of eating, which means my energy is consistent most of the day, and my body tends to respond better overall. I'm not sure whether it's the higher protein or lower carb bit, but I definitely have gotten a bit leaner since I started.

      In terms of warm ups/cardio – I only do about 3 minutes of rowing before every work out. haha. I try and do 10-15 minutes of HIIT after one workout per week, on whatever machine is free. That's it!

Leave a Reply

