Day 13: perfect form

 

Stage 1/A3

Here’s a surprise fact about lifting gloves: they will not work if you leave them at home. 😉

Despite not having gloves to help my grip, today was a great workout! I decided to go with my idea of last week to work on perfecting my form before increasing the weight (as much as I want to). It was a good idea.

Here’s what I did:

SS
Back squats – 2 sets of 12 @ 100lbs (I really kept watch my form the whole way through, and it was good. So next week I’ll try and increase)

Alternating Sets
Pushups – 2 sets of 12 (the last couple of these were a little pathetic)
Seated Row – 1 set of 12 @ 60lbs, 1 set of 10 @ 60lbs

Step-ups – 1 set of 12 @ 25lbs, 1 set of 13 @ 25lbs (each hand) – 5 steps up
Prone Jackknife – 2 sets of 12 (medium ball)

Cardio (only do this once or twice a week)
15 min treadmill intervals, 2.5% incline, intervals of 2:1 (5.5mph/7.5mph)

Then I ended with some foam rolling and stretching as per usual. I find doing this really helps with recovery/DOMS.

 

Got home and made my regular protein shake, enjoyed in a martini shaker. Yum yum. Today was cold, but it was gorgeous and sunny out, so I sat on the balcony, soaking up sun and freezing my ass off.

OH and I wanted to tell you guys about my new purchase – a workout top that cost me a total of $13 (taxes included). I try and wait for sales to buy stuff, and yesterday it worked in my favour – Matrix gear was 40% off at the local sports store by my place. It has a really cute zebra pattern around the edges, and a super cute back. I tried to take a picture of my back but, for the life of me, could got get a good shot (too much twisting).

Also, um…I have no boobs. With any loss of body fat I may start to look like a man 😉

 

Anywho, I’m off to go edit an abstract and to do some stuff for my research job before we go for dinner at my parents’.

Have a great Sunday!

10 thoughts on “Day 13: perfect form

  1. Ha! I don’t have boobs either, don’t fret. 🙂

    Is Matrix gear good? I am trying to find some workout clothes. I am in need of some new stuff. But, everything is so expensive!

    Can’t wait to start NROL! My first workout is Tuesday. Too. Far. Away! =P

    • Honestly, I’d never really heard of Matrix before I saw it in the store, but I tried it on, it fit well, and it feels good, and that’s all that matters to me! Most of the time I work out in old t-shirts, so anything is really an improvement for me. In the end, I think all that matters is that you’re comfortable and feel good – and that your wallet doesn’t suffer for it. I don’t spend much on fitness clothes since I only spend a small fraction of my weekly hours at the gym (right now 3-5 hours/week). Basically I just wait for sales and then buy whatever fits and feels good 🙂

      I’m excited for you to start, too!! Really looking forward to reading about your experience. It’s addicting. I was saying to my boyfriend today how, after taking a couple of days off, I sometimes feel nervous/hesitant about getting back to the gym, but once I go, I can’t wait to go again. My next workout is on Tuesday and I am excited…….

      • I feel the same way after taking a few days off. But, once I hit the free weight room I get this excited feeling inside of me. And, I feel so powerful lifting in there with all of the big guys! Ha!

      • So true. Every once in a while I’ve gotten a guy giving me a funny glance. Especially when I’m squatting more than him! lol…

  2. LOL! “I may start to look like a man”

    Join the club my dear… though I will take my nonboobage any day over fake boobs plastered onto pecs. That always strikes me as absolutely absurd looking.

    • I completely agree. I’ll take a strong, lean body over slightly larger breasts any day! (Anyway, as April noted, we have the muscle “cleavage” to look forward to! hehe) And thank you! I think the appearance of a nice shape has a lot to do with the angle of the photo 😉

Leave a Reply

