Day 8: Small gains

Day 8, Stage 1/A2

Made some small gains today. Obviously I would have been glad to have bigger ones, but I felt tired and like I really worked hard, so that is good enough for me.

I also realized today that I made the same mistake in determining the weight of my lifts with the squats as I did with the deadlifts – I didn’t include the weight of the olympic bar! So, turns out my first round of squats last week were actually 95lbs, not 50 ;). I went back and edited them since this is my “record”!

Here’s what I did:

SS
Back squats – 1 set of 12 @ 95lbs, 1 set of 12 @ 100lbs

Alternating Sets
Pushups – 2 sets of 15 @ 30 degree incline
Seated Row – 1 set of 15 @ 55lbs, 1 set of 13 @ 55lbs

Step ups – 2 sets of 15 @ 20lbs (each hand), 6-up
Prone jackknife – 2 sets of 12 on the M ball

Cardio: 15 m HIIT, with intervals of 2:1.

Tonight I also have my weekly yoga class at Yoga in Daily Life. (For those who don’t know, I’m a certified yoga teacher, and I did my training in India last spring. So far, this is the one and only system I’ve found in Canada that resembles the yoga I learned there). I’m not teaching currently (too busy), but once the semester is over I’m going to start doing weekly classes for the employees at Pixar’s Vancouver office, which is exciting.

As for progress pics – I decided when I started NROLFW that I was going to use progress pictures to keep myself motivated. Please keep in mind when viewing that I obviously have a ways to go…haha. My main goals are to tighten up my waist and to change my body composition. I have a wide waist (so does my mom – genetics!) and it’s always been my trouble spot. I was hesitant at first to post them, because, well…its very personal! . So I’m going to keep them on my bodybuilding profile – you can check them out here [link has been disabled].

Well that’s all for now. Have a great day ladies! (I assume its mostly ladies reading this, haha)

~D


10 thoughts on “Day 8: Small gains

  1. Wow you already look super good!! Although, I can’t wait to see what more pounds of muscle will do for you! And your waist is tiny- what are you talkin about?? 🙂 AND, your really strong already- we’re squatting about the same!

  2. Hey! I found your blog on April’s site. I wanted you to know that:

    #1. You look fantastic, I don’t know what you’re talking about with a “wide waist”

    #2. I was determined to overhaul my body composition last spring. One of the things that kept me going was progress pictures… They are SOOO tough to take sometimes, especially when you’re not feeling great about how you look. BUT know that, down the line, you’ll be so glad you have them.

    Sometimes it’s hard to see progress in the mirror when you look at yourself every day, but when you go back and see what you looked like a few weeks/months earlier – you’ll be amazed!

    • Hey Joob – thanks so much for checking out the site! Thanks also for the very kind words – I guess that’s the thing with “progress” – it’s so relative, right? I know I’m not in a bad state, but I’ve always wanted to really push my body to see where it could go. It’s encouraging to know that I’m on the right track for making change.

      I really appreciate your words!

      DD

      • Progress is TOTALLY relative. I think if you really want to see where you can go, you can DEFINITELY do it! Just know that it will come with time, hard work, and way more patience than anyone wants to deal with.

        Right now I am trying to do the same and see how far I can push my body… I’m about half way through my preparation for a bodybuilding competition 🙂 I’m stoked to see where I end up!

  3. Love the blog, and you are looking great! So much muscle definition already! I am lifting heavy now too. I need to take some progress pics. Isn’t is awesome being able to eat tons and lift like the guys!? 🙂

    • Thank you for checking out the blog, and for your comments, Katie! I really appreciate it. That’s awesome that you recently started lifting heavy too! I’m going to check out your page. It’s nice having a support community online!

Leave a Reply

