Day 4: Tradeoffs

Day 4, Stage 1/A1

I woke up super early this morning to work out before a meeting, but this time I went to the community rec centre near my house. It was so lovely! I usually go there in the evenings and on weekends (ie. when I’m not at school), but it was a completely different experience in the morning…namely because the weight area was almost completely FREE! haha. It seems that the cardio queens (and kings) prefer the mornings, leaving lots of space for lifting ๐Ÿ™‚

Anywho, it was an interesting workout. I’m loving that each day is a different experience and brings on new thoughts and feelings.

Today I did my first “A” routine. Honestly, it was weird, because I did every exercise to my max, but I still felt like – maybe at another day, or time – I could have done more. Does that make sense? Like, my body didn’t feel totally wrecked like it did the other day. More than that though, I felt like I was making tradeoffs. For example, with the squats at 60lbs, I felt like I could have done another couple of sets, but that I would have been sacrificing form.ย  With my pushups, I could have pushed out some more regular pushups instead of moving to a 30 degree incline, but again, I would have been sacrificing form. I’m no weight-lifting pro, but it seems to me that it’s always better to do fewer reps with perfect form than more reps with bad form. I prefer to stay injury-free, thank you very much. So, that’s what happened. And here’s what I did:

SS
Back squat – 1 set @105lbs/9 reps, 1 set @95lbs/15 reps (I went down because I wasn’t hitting the goal reps of 15 the first time)

Alternating sets

Pushups – 1 set @BW/12, 1 set @ 30 degrees/15 (now this is just flat out embarrassing!!!! I am so out of pushup shape! The good news is that I have a long way to improve ๐Ÿ˜‰
Seated row – 1 set @55lbs/15, 1 set @55lbs/12 (this one felt real good)

Stepup – 1 set @ 17.5lbs(each hand)/15, 1 set @20lbs/15, all at 5 steps up (this was too easy. next week I’m going for 25)
Prone jackknife – 2 sets of 8 reps on the smaller ball (Also felt too easy – next week I’m going for the bigger ball)

I finished with about a little bit of time before I had to shower, so I ended with 10 mins of HIIT on the spin bike, with intervals of 1:00 (easy pace) and :30 (hard). I’ve never done HIIT on the spin bike, but it works great – mainly because there are no buttons to push to increase your speed, you just pedal faster, or adjust the knob for resistance.

Eats today – still can’t get enough calories in…i’m trying… i added in fats every which way today!

B – 2 pieces Chia toast with almond butter, scrambled egg whites
PW – protein shake
L – tempeh veggie stir fry, also cottage cheese + cantaloupe
S – peanut butter flax protein bar (crappy recipe I found online – not worth sharing)
D – chicken, steamed veg, broccoli, almond butter
S – protein shake

aaand today was the first day that I can proudly say I hit my (lower) cal goal of 1900. Probably all due to my adding copious amounts of almond butter to every single meal. thanks for the fat tips! bonus. ๐Ÿ™‚

Happy weekend!

3 thoughts on “Day 4: Tradeoffs

  1. I totally know what you mean- somedays I walk out of the gym and feel like I didn’t do good enough. But then low and behold the next day I’m super sore!

Leave a Reply

