NROLFW, Day 1

Hi!

I started this blog to keep track of my progress with The New Rules of Lifting for Women. I’ve wanted to get into heavy lifting for a while now, but needed some kind of guide that would get me into a consistent, reliable, effective program. Based on the research I’ve done so far, this one seems to be a favourite among ladies who lift heavy, even those who have significant experience under their belt.

I’m actually not working out today as it’s my rest day, but I decided to count today as Day 1 since it marks the beginning of my dietary changes. I was already eating fairly “clean” before, but the main things I’m focusing on now are (in order of importance):

  1. increasing protein intake (shooting for about 150-200 grams/day)
  2. increasing my calories from my normal average of about 1700 (NROLFW says I should be targeting about 1900 on my rest days and 2200 on my workout days – holy smokes!)
  3. keeping a fairly consistent macro ratio for Protein/Carbs/Fat of about 35/35/30 to 40/35/25 (I’m not going to be a stickler on this though – just aim for general amounts)
  4. limiting consumption of treats (things like cookies, my blessed coconut ice cream, alcohol, etc.) to once or twice a week

Tomorrow I will start with my first workout of Stage 1.

My meal plan for today:

Breakfast: whole wheat toast, almond butter, scrambled egg whites and frank’s red
Snack: celery stick + white bean & red pepper dip, tall skim latte
Lunch: Mixed veggie and Herb salad with balsamic vinaigrette + 1 can organic wild salmon
Snack: cottage cheese + 10 almonds
Dinner: out – jamaican chicken, rice & beans, roasted veggies
“Dessert”: 1/2 c greek yogurt

Can’t wait till my first actual workout tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “NROLFW, Day 1

  1. I just discovered your blog and am really looking forward to following your posts. I picked up NROLFW last month and will begin stage one as soon as I finish my Body Pump Instructor taping in two weeks. Thanks for all the post so far.

Leave a Reply

